Knitted Newborn Hat, My Pattern.

So sweet baby boy hat

 This is the first time I have knitted anything without the step by step instructions of a pattern so I thought I would share.  If you find any errors in my pattern please let me know.

So Sweet Baby Hat

Materials:

1 skien Lion Brand Tweed Stripes (144 yds)                                                                       (I didn’t use but about 1/2 the skien)

Set of 4 dpn’s size 7

Gauge:

10 stiches x 13 rows = 2″ in ss

Abbreviations:

K- Knit

K2tog- Knit 2 stitches together

CO- Cast On

BO- Bind Off

Pattern:

CO 60 and divide evenly on 3 dpns.  Knit each round until the piece measures approximately 3.5″ to 4″. 

Decreasing Rounds:

1- (k7, k2tog) 6 times, knit remaining stitches. (54 stitches)

2- And remaining even rounds – K around

3- (k6, k2tog) 6 times, knit remaining stitches. (48 stitches)

5- (k5, k2tog) 6 times, knit remaining stitches. (42 stitches)

7- (k4, k2tog) 7 times. (35 stitches)

9- (k3, k2tog) 7 times. (28 stitches)

11- (k2, k2tog) 7 times. (21 stitches)

13- (k1, k2tog) 7 times. (14 stitches)

15- (k2tog) 7 times. (7 stitches)

16-18 knit

BO

Using your size 7 dpn’s make a 3 stitch I-cord in you desired length and tie around the top of the hat.  The tie is optional as it is purely decorative. 

I know this is a super simple pattern but I am very proud of it.  Your feedback is always welcome.

Have an insanely knitting day!!

3 responses to “Knitted Newborn Hat, My Pattern.

  1. Lovely and …
    even I could knit this!!
    Pattern bookmarked, thank you 🙂

  2. Thanks for the pattern will try it! greetings from Croatia from Maya

Leave a comment